Polysorbate 80

Share/Bookmark

UnBRoKeN_PoweR

RankRank

Total Posts: 34

September 09, 2010, 10:57 AM

Hi guys

I currently use P80 as it is, in its “raw” form. Is this ok? because sometimes i feel alot of loose hairs gets easily pulled out, can it be too harsh on my scalp?

I think that alcohol on hair is just bad, and i dont see the logic behind mixing it with P80. can anyone explain? can i continue using it in its form?

Can anyone explain how to mix with alcohol? (what type of alcohol, what ratio etc)

IGNORE

RankRank

Editor

Total Posts: 108

# 1 ]

September 09, 2010, 03:34 PM

i think its preferable to mix it because it is so thick and can not easily be spread. those are probably hairs that would be getting lost anyway so i dont think that is something to be concerned about. i remember reading somewhere here that its a 50/50 mix and i use ethyl alcohol, the reason being is thats what is used in the zix formula.

i’m no expert on this and actually i posted some questions about polysorbate in my own post yesterday

IGNORE

Tritium

RankRank

Total Posts: 42

# 2 ]

September 09, 2010, 04:52 PM

I mix it roughly 50/50 with vodka because ethanol is so hard to find here in the UK. This may ease your worries on the alcohol issue. The Zix creator mention testing alcohol by pouring the stuff on one arm every day for years (iirc) and saw no noticeable changes.

It’s basically just to make it much easier to apply. And yeah, don’t worry about loosening off any hairs, they weren’t in there for the long haul smile

Tritium
*edited to correct error*

IGNORE

Mastery

RankRank

Total Posts: 234

# 3 ]

September 19, 2010, 05:09 AM

try polysorbate 20 - lighter liquid, also less toxicity

IGNORE

The Zix Creator

RankRankRank

Editor

Total Posts: 638

# 4 ]

September 19, 2010, 03:05 PM

Hi unbroken power. Personally I’m of the opinion that ethyl alcohol has been the victim of much disinformation.