Newbie Shed Question

Share/Bookmark

ak161803

RankRank

Total Posts: 26

December 28, 2010, 02:17 AM

I know there is always a lot of talk on this forum about initial shed and that the topic has been covered in great detail; however, I could not find anything specifically addressing this question so please bare with me for a minute here…

I just started my new hair regimen last week and just began using my LLLT helmet last night (thanks again OMG).  I am new to topicals so I’m still just getting the hang of applying them to my scalp.  Here is my regimen thus far:

*Nizoral approximately 3 times/week
*Progaine as my regular shampoo daily
*Super Zix II 2x daily
*Polysorbate 80/Ethyl Alcohol (on LLLT days)
*LLLT helmet 3x/wk - 20min/session

I was reading that when you apply the topicals that you should spend time rubbing them in for a good 10-20 seconds to massage it into the scalp.  My problem is that when I look at my hand in the place that I am rubbing I am seeing a number of hairs that stick to my hand which obviously looks alarming.  Now I knew that I should expect shedding, but this is obviously something that can freak a person out. 

My question is two-fold:

1. Is this just a normal and everyone experiences the same thing in the beginning - or…
2. Could I possibly be doing something wrong such as rubbing my head to hard or should I not be rubbing at all?

It might help for a little context…

I would classify my hair loss as “thinning” since there are no sprawling patches that have absolutely little to no hair on them.  Obviously if I had that, at the very least the topicals would be easy to apply.  There is a lot of hair that seems to get in the way when I am trying to apply directly to the scalp which makes me worry that I am harming the hair that is already in place!

I’m sure this is just an overreaction but I wanted to at least put it out there in case someone with a little more experience can direct me as to what I am potentially doing wrong.