“Natural” anti-inflammatory creams

Share/Bookmark

I-Head

Rank

Total Posts: 19

March 26, 2011, 01:51 AM

Going through the forums recently and reading about the emphasis on supplements that aim to reduce inflammation, of one form or another, it occurred to me that the ointment I had been using to massage my aching limbs after a big spout of training or related muscular injuries could very well be a useful treatment against MPB.

Firstly, let me say that I have no medical/medicinal experience to start claiming any fantastic results, or the “next big thing” etc. I haven’t used the ointment as an alternative to my current regime before this writing. 

If you find any flaw in my writings, please say so. That’s what this forum is for.

For the purposes of the discussion, I will not name the ointment but am happy to list and discuss the ingredients (as listed on the bottle).

My interest is more the idea of the possible use of the ointment and the feedback from the forum.

What brought on these thoughts was the following:

- The use of those supplements in the I.H. range and their purpose of enhancing the immune system, reducing inflammation, increasing blood-flow, etc.;
- The use of LLLT and its purpose of reducing inflammation and increasing blood flow to the scalp, etc.;
- The theories on the mechanics of hair loss; and
- The plethora of other alternate supplements and therapies that reduce inflammation and/or increase blood flow to the scalp that can be found throughout the forums on this website.

What I realized from the above was that in fact, my natural sports anti-inflammatory cream had ingredients, which supported all of the above.

The main ingredients and a brief description of their benefits are as follows:

- Deionized water: used for its purity

- Seaweed Colloids: its mineral content contains those that are required for your body’s physiological functions.

- St John’s Wart Oil: antiseptic, antiviral and astringent.